DUI Pittsburgh, PA

If you are arrested for DUI in Pennsylvania penalties are rigorous: if you
are over 21 (legal drinking age) and you blood alcohol level is .08 or
higher you are considered to be DUI. You may also be convicted at a lower BAC rate if you are driving erratically. If you are under 21 BAC is .02 or greater.

Just by being licensed in Pennsylvania you have agreed to chemical testing. If you refuse to have one or more tests for breath, blood or urine, your license will be suspended for one year. This is in additional to penalties for the DUI offense. Even if you are found not guilty of DUI and have refused the test, your license will be suspended for one year. A two and a half year suspension may result if you refuse to take the test and you are determined to be DUI, depending on your BAC level at the time of arrest. If you refuse testing and have a prior DUI conviction you will receive an eighteen month suspension for refusal plus eighteen more months for DUI.

  • A first offense results in 6 months probation, a $300 fine, and no
    suspension.
  • A second offense results in 5 days to 6 months in prison, a $300 to $2500 fine, and a 12 month suspension. A third offense brings 10 days to 2 years in prison, a $500 to $5000 fine, and a 12 month suspension.

Penalties increase the higher your blood alcohol, the more serious injuries
and damages resulting from driving while impaired, and the more times you are convicted. Second and third offenders must have an ignition interlock system installed for one year. You may have to attend alcohol abuse screening and treatment. A judge may also order 150 hours of community service.

There are more severe penalties for those with a higher BAC, and for those involved in a crash that results in death or serious injury

 

DISCLAIMER: The materials contained on this web site are provided for information only and do not constitute legal advice. Contact with this web site does not establish an attorney-client relationship.